A  web·guide to sustainable development, conservation & the glocal environment



Since 1974, UNEP's Regional Seas Programme has addressed “the accelerating degradation of the world’s

     oceans and coastal areas through a ‘shared seas’ approach – namely, by engaging neighbouring

     countries in comprehensive and specific actions to protect their common marine environment. Today,

     more than 143 countries have joined 18 Regional Seas Conventions and Action Plans for the sustainable

     management and use of the marine and coastal environment.”

There are 18 Regional Seas programmes in three administrative categories:

     · UNEP-administered

       · Non-UNEP-administered

         · Independent

UNEP‘s Regional Seas Programme